Now Reading:

Dakar Rally 2013: Al Attiyah wins third stage


Dakar Rally 2013: Al Attiyah wins third stage


Qatar’s Nasser Al Attiyah and his Spanish co-driver Lucas Cruz produced a superb display to clinch the 3rd stage of the Dakar rally from Pisco to Nazca on Monday.

The former champion’s time was 1 minute and 18 seconds faster than Robby Gordon’s Hummer and 3 minutes and 52 seconds clear of France’s Stephen Peterhansel.

This result sees Peterhansel lead Al-Attiyah by 6 minutes and 33 seconds in the overall standings, with Overdrive Toyota’s Lucio Alvarez and X-raid’s Leonid Novitskiy third and fourth respectively.

In the bike category, KTM’s Chaleco Lopez held his nerve to edge out Husqvarna’s Paulo Goncalves and claim the third stage in a time of two hours 37 minutes and 54 seconds.

France’s Cyril Despres was third, four minutes and eight seconds back and now leads Lopez in the overall standings by two minutes and 51 seconds.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article