Now Reading:

Oviedo hosts 2012 Asturias ceremony

world news

Oviedo hosts 2012 Asturias ceremony


The 2012 Asturias prizes have been presented to the lucky winners in Oviedo, Spain, by Queen Sophia and the Crown Prince and Princess.

The ceremony attracted large crowds and just a few Republican protesters, and was broadcast live as the highpoint of Oviedo’s week-long Asturias festival.

The 2012 vintage was not short of Spanish winners; the Concord award, for fostering tolerance and human understanding, went to the Spanish Federation of Food Banks. This was a timely prize, as the economic crisis in Spain means the banks are being solicited as never before.

The International Co-Operation prize went to an over 160-year old organisation, the International Committee of the Red Cross and Red Crescent.

The Asturias prize for Communication and Humanities went to Japan’s Shigeru Miyamoto, the creator of the Super Mario and Zelda games, the Nintendo DS, and the Wii.

And sport was also honoured with the second Asturias prize in three years for footballers Iker Casillas and Xavi Hernandez, who won previously in 2010 as members of Spain’s World Cup-winning side.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article