Now Reading:

UN honours cultural heritage

world news

UN honours cultural heritage


Twelve cultural traditions have been given world heritage status by UNESCO, the UN body responsible for education, science and culture.

They include French horseback riding, the popular urban Portuguese music fado and the exuberant mariarchi music of Mexico.

There were two additions from Japan, including Mibu no Hana Taue, the ritual of transplanting rice, which takes place in two communities near Hiroshima.

Other contributions came from Colombia, Peru, the Czech Republic, Greece, Cyprus and Croatia.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article