Now Reading:

Trio scoop Nobel Medicine Prize

world news

Trio scoop Nobel Medicine Prize


Bruce Beutler of the United States, Jules Hoffmann of France and Ralph Steinman of Canada have won the 2011 Nobel Medicine Prize for their work on the immune system, the Nobel jury said on Monday.

“This year’s Nobel laureates have revolutionised our understanding of the immune system by discovering key principles for its activation,” the jury said in a statement.

The three scientists will split prize money of 10 million Swedish kronor, or just over one million euros, between them.

Last year’s winner of the Nobel Medicine Prize was Robert G. Edwards, the British man who devised IVF fertility treatment.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article