Now Reading:

25 sites added to UNESCO world heritage list

world news

25 sites added to UNESCO world heritage list


Twenty five new sites have been added to the UNESCO world heritage list. Among those in Europe is the landscape of the Serra de Tramuntana in Spain (see picture).

What are described as prehistoric pile dwellings around the Alps have also been given protection. This takes in Switzerland, Austria, France, Germany, Italy and Slovenia.

Protection to ancient beech forests in Germany has also been extended to include sites in Slovakia and Ukraine.

Further afield, the famous Persian Garden in Iran has been added to the list. This is a popular spot in the centre of the country.

Among the other sites honoured by UNESCO is the group of Ogasawara Islands in Japan.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article