Now Reading:

'BRICS' nations condemn the use of force in Libya

world news

'BRICS' nations condemn the use of force in Libya


Leaders of five of the world’s big emerging powers have urged an end to the fighting in Libya and a peaceful resolution to the conflict.

The bloc known as BRICS, standing for Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa, has been meeting on the southern Chinese island of Hainan.

Even though South Africa voted for the UN Security Council resolution authorising air strikes in Libya, the BRICS group condemned the use of force. It did not, however, single out the NATO-led campaign for criticism.

Chinese President Hu Jintao said recent turmoil in Western Asia and North Africa “indicates there is still a long way to go before we can realise lasting peace and common prosperity in the world.”

In a dig at the dollar, the nations called for a more broad-based international reserve currency system.

The BRICS aim to forge a common emerging-market negotiating stance on a wide range of issues, providing a counterweight to the West.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article