Dakar winners presented trophies

Now Reading:

Dakar winners presented trophies

Text size Aa Aa

After battling it out for two weeks in one of the most gruelling races on earth the Dakar Rally winners received their trophies in Buenos Aires on Sunday.

Leader since day four Spain’s Marc Coma gradually increased his margin to 15 minutes and 4 seconds over rival Cyril Despres of France to claim his third title in the bike category.

He also won in 2006 and 2009.

Qatari prince Nasser Al Attiyah overcame the disappointment of last year’s near miss to win his very first Dakar title in the car category.

Along with German co-driver Timo Gottschalk, the Volkswagen driver outclassed the field to win by a huge 49 minutes over 2009 winner and VW stablemate Giniel de Villers of South Africa.

With Spanish veteran Carlos Sainz finishing third overall it was a very successful rally for Volkswagen.

Another notable Dakar achievement was that of Vladimir Chagin.

The Russian won a record-breaking seventh truck title and offered Kamaz its 10th win overall.

The 41-year-old also took his total of career stage victories to 63, a record across all categories.