Now Reading:

Peru's Vargas Llosa wins Nobel Prize for Literature

world news

Peru's Vargas Llosa wins Nobel Prize for Literature


The 2010 Nobel Prize for Literature has been awarded to the Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa.

The Nobel Committee handed the 74-year-old the prize for “his cartography of the structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual’s resistance, revolt and defeat.”

As well as being a writer, Vargas Llosa is also a politician, journalist and essayist.

He is one of Latin America’s most significant authors with a wide international audience.

He first came to prominence in the 1960’s with novels such as “The Time of the Hero”,“The Green House” and his huge tome “Conversation in the Cathedral.”

He is an eclectic writer who has tried his hand at comedy, murder mysteries, historical novels and political thrillers.

He ran for the Peruvian presidency in 1990 on a ticket of neo-liberal reform and was defeated by Alberto Fujimori after a runoff.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article

world news