Now Reading:

Herta Müller wins Nobel literature prize

world news

Herta Müller wins Nobel literature prize


The 2009 Nobel Prize for Literature has been awarded to German writer Herta Müller.

The Swedish Academy that decides the winner recognised her ability to depict “the landscape of the dispossessed.” Many of Müller’s novels, poems and essays relate to her native Romania and the harsh conditions imposed on the people by former dictator Nicolae Ceaucescu. Müller becomes the second German language recipient of the Nobel literature prize this century after Austrian writer Elfriede Kelinek. The last German to win the prize was Gunter Grass in 1999. Nobel laureates receive a cheque for 10 million Swedish Kroner, or around one million euros.

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article