Now Reading:

Rafael Nadal named Prince of Asturias laureate

world news

Rafael Nadal named Prince of Asturias laureate


The 2008 Prince of Asturias Award for Sport has been given to the Spanish tennis ace, Rafael Nadal.

The Prince of Asturias prizes have been awarded annually since 1981 in the name of Spain’s heir to the throne, intended to promote cultural progress.

The specially made sculpture will sit alongside a collection of other trophies on the 22-year-old’s mantlepiece.

This year, he won Olympic Gold in Beijing; the French Open for the fourth time; the British Tennis Championship at Queens and the Wimbledon tournament.

Just a couple of weeks ago, Nadal knocked Roger Federer off the top spot in the world tennis rankings.

There were 29 nominees from 19 different countries considered by the jury, among them the Jamaican Olympic sprint sensation Usain Bolt; the American record-breaking Olympic swimmer Michael Phelps and the Ethiopian runner Haile Gebreselassie.

The Foundation’s award statement said: “Committed to the noblest values of sport on and off the court, [Nadal’s] sense of social responsibility led him to establish a foundation focusing on social work among disadvantaged groups and co-operation for development.”

More about:

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article