Now Reading:

Nanotechnology experts win Asturias science award

world news

Nanotechnology experts win Asturias science award


Five scientists renowned for their work in the field of nanotechnology have received the Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research. The annual Asturias are the Spanish equivalent of the Nobel prize and are divided into eight categories covering the Arts, Science and Humanities.

Two Japanese researchers, Sumio Iijima and Shuji Nakamura, and three Americans, Robert Langer, George M. Whitesides and Tobin Marks share this year’s scientific research award and a 50,000 euro prize.

Considered groundbreakers in the field of nanotechnology, they are credited with developing new, revolutionary materials and techniques for combatting disease.

Their work in nanotechnology has also contributed to the protection of the environment by providing efficient use of material and lowering energy consumption.

More about:

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article