Now Reading:

Yad Vashem wins final Asturias prize for 2007

world news

Yad Vashem wins final Asturias prize for 2007


This year’s Asturias prize for Concord has gone to the Yad Vashem Holocaust Memorial. Jury President Vicente Alvarez Areces made the announcement in Oviedo, Spain. The Concord Award rewards people or institutions who have contributed to human understanding, the defence of freedoms or the protection of world heritage.

Yad Vashem was established in 1953 by an act of the Israeli Knesset. It has been entrusted with documenting the history of the Jewish people during the holocaust period, preserving the memory and story of each of more than 3 million victims and imparting the legacy of the holocaust for generations to come through its archives, library, school, museums and recognition of the righteous among the Nations.

It has become a stopping point for heads of state travelling to Israel as well as ordinary visitors from across the world. The Asturias prizes are awarded in the name of the Crown Prince of Spain, the Prince of Asturias.

More about:

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article