Now Reading:

Biometric passports late

brussels bureau

Biometric passports late


Most European Union states have missed an end-of-August deadline to issue high security biometric passports. Only seven countries – Austria, the Netherlands, Denmark, Belgium, France, Germany and Sweden — have told the European Commission they are ready to issue passports containing an electronic chip with a digital photograph.

A further five countries with U.S.-bound travel in mind have said they would be ready this week, according to EU officials. A few others may be ready or close, without having informed the EU executive about it. Those EU states still not issuing biometric passports by Sept. 20 could face legal action.

More about:

Every story can be told in many ways: see the perspectives from Euronews journalists in our other language teams.

Next Article